• Categories

  • Archives

News : Amazon Kindle DX

News : Kindle DX Just as soon as

we finally get our hands on a new unit to test out, the boys over at Rapir Repair are racing to rip one apart. And that’s just what they’ve done here with the Amazon Kindle DX . Inside it’s got the requisite boards, wires, tape and cat hairs (just kidding), plus an E727NV WN2 wireless card, memory, CPU and Epson E-ink panel controller. It’s actually pretty sparse and clean inside of there — we’d expect nothing less! Hit the read link for the full, glorious disassembling (though there is one more shot after the break). Continue reading Amazon Kindle DX gets torn apart, examined Filed under: Displays Amazon Kindle DX gets torn apart, examined originally appeared on Engadget on Thu, 11 Jun 2009 19:49:00 EST. Please see our terms for use of feeds . Read PDF on 700 Now, what I want to do with the eReader is be able to view books (Stephen King, Dean Koontz) and view PDF’s I’ve bought, as well as reading work documents on the go. This would greatly reduce what I have to carry in a normal day. Needles to say, PDF support is a must. I also would like to be able to add notes to pages. I’m a notorious note take in my books, be it with post it’s or writing, this is very important to me. Now the Kindle doesn’t native support PDF’s and from what I heard their conversions aren’t the best. (Except for the Kindle DX, releasing on June 10). Every other eReader seems to support PDF. So I thought I would try to find the Sony Reader that supports PDF nicely and allows notes. The Kindle has always allowed notes and bookmarks, but has just now allowed PDF (Kindle DX). I was able to see and touch the Sony Reader 505 at Target, which is where I fell in love with the idea of an eReader, but could NOT find a 700 anywhere. Finally found that Borders has 700’s so I took a roadtrip to a local borders (about 1.25 hours away) to see the Reader. The 700 honestly did not impress me at all. The text was hard to read on a normal book, the contrast was horrid. The PDF support was nice, it had zoom and annotation that I wanted, but reading it was hard with the glare from the touch screen. I thought to myself, I should just try it. So I ask Borders what thier return policy is, they only return Readers if they are defective. The only Sony Store has a 14day return policy I believe, but after seeing the two side by side, I figure I won’t even bother. The Kindle DX, I believe, will be my reader of choice. The Amazon Store has an ample 30 day return policy (from delivery date) and PDF support. Plus it has a bigger screen. I found that while trying to read PDF’s on the Sony’s 6″ screen, it was hard to read at small “form”.. and when you expand the text the formatting kinda breaks. The large 9.7″ screen of the Kindle DX I think will really help with that.